

# **Utah Board of Higher Education Virtual Meeting** Wednesday, February 12, 2025

## COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE **MINUTES**

### **Board Members Present**

Amanda Covington, Chair Steve Neeleman, Vice Chair Javier Chávez Jr. Jon Cox Sharon Eubank Danny Ipson Tina Marriott Cydni Tetro

### **Board Members Absent**

Aaron Skonnard Muskan Walia

### Office of the Commissioner

Geoffrey Landward, Commissioner Alison Adams, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Higher Education Brynn Fronk, Executive Assistant to the Utah Board of Higher Education Katie Mazzie, Assistant Commissioner of Strategic and Government Affairs Angie Stallings, Deputy Commissioner and COO Nate Talley, Deputy Commissioner and CFO

### Other

Al Smith, Professor and Dean, Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services, Utah State University

Chair Amanda Covington called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

### Committee of the Whole

Utah State University Update

Chair Covington thanked President Cantwell for her service to Utah State University. She shared that the Board plans to appoint a search committee in the coming days to start a process to find USU's next leader. The hope is to appoint someone later this summer, but the Board will take the time necessary to ensure the right person is found. Board member Cox moved to appoint Al Smith as interim president of Utah State University. Board member Eubank seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed. Interim President Smith thanked the Board for the opportunity. Chair Covington thanked the Board for their swift action in appointing an interim president.

Board member Ipson moved to go into closed session for the purpose of discussing the character, professional competence, or physical or mental health of an individual; impending litigation; or the sale of real property. Board member Marriott seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

### **Closed Session**

Vice Chair Neeleman moved to end closed session. Board member Cox seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

Vice Chair Neeleman moved to adjourn. Board member Eubank seconded the motion, and the Board members in attendance voted unanimously in favor. The motion passed.

The meeting adjourned at 6:00 p.m.

Date Approved: